2023-in -Review: To dare

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Recently, I've had to ask myself critical questions like, what did I do well this year? Although it sounds straightforward, I've come to see that it's not as easy to answer as it sounds. I could argue I did better at work, spoke at more events, helped more people with resources and mentorship, and worked out more. All of these are correct but don't accurately depict what I've done this year.

I started this year with a big dreams of being better at savings, building a house, traveling more, and getting better career-wise. A large part of these dreams, I accomplished, and some of them I didn't attempt (capitalism).

Career wise - This year I dared to dare at work, created a few OS packages that improved how I and some of my colleagues work. I became more proactive and pushed to be better. Was glad to check off some of the work goals I had as completed.

Relationship wise - I took some hit on my personal life and relationships, one of the things I wanted to do was to be closer to my friends but truth is the more we grow to be adults, we tend to separate more and well, make new friends.

Family wise - my siblings got admitted and was glad to get that signed off for them. Got my mom and dad most things they wanted and also glad I got closer to my brother. Got my siblings most of what they asked for.

On my personal life, I wanted to get a car but decided against it. At the time decided it wasn’t a good fit considering runnings with the folks of NPF.

It won’t be a year to review without mentioning I traveled more this year than I did before now.

Money wise - I didn’t save enough or better still didn’t. Told myself that I’d spend on myself this year and I did. I don’t regrets any of it and I’m proud of some of my monetary decisions which include some angel investments which have 2x since then.

I met some good people this year for the first time and heard them speak. Was surprised to go to this event and had someone I admire ask me about work, and how I’ve been.

For next year, I want to focus on being intentional about every session of my life, from my career to my personal life. Someone told me to go all out and that’s what I intend to do. I’ve found new things I enjoy this year and explored another section of tech, next year I intend to move fully into that.

This year I’ve dared to push myself and yes! It’s possible to do more.

Here’s to being better m, new beginnings and doing more next year.